Over one hundred years ago, Macclesfield High School for Girls moved to brand new premises on Fence Avenue. The official opening in February 1909 marked the start of eight flourishing decades for the school but, sadly, in 1990 it was forced to close. The site lay empty and neglected for two years until the King’s School Foundation bought it for its new Girls’ Division, breathing fresh life into the buildings and grounds.
To celebrate 100 years of Girls’ Education at Fence Avenue, a special Founders’ Day ceremony was held on 13th February 2009 with guest speaker Ann Widdecombe MP, and on 27th March the Girls’ Division hosted an Open Afternoon for former High School pupils. The fascinating history of Macclesfield High School for Girls was on display in an exhibition at the public library for a fortnight in February 2009.